Harry! You’re alive!…And you’re a terrible shot!

"Yeah I called her up, she gave me a bunch of crap about me not listening to her, or something, I don't know, I wasn't really paying attention."

"Yeah I called her up, she gave me a bunch of crap about me not listening to her, or something, I don't know, I wasn't really paying attention."

Yes, I am alive! Sorry for the complete lack of updates in the past few weeks. I just moved to a new place and didn’t have internet access for quite a while. Hopefully I can get into some sort of regular schedule of posting. And with the bye week I hope to finally get caught up on my video analysis from the last few games.

So here are some of my opinions on the latest news in Orange Nation:

Football: Well at least we didn’t lose to Northeastern (but good god we actually kept them in that game). I loved the effort in the Pitt game but this team still needs to learn (or be taught?) how to finish a game. That would have been a big win to kick off the Big East slate but, to quote the great Dennis Green, “we let em off the hook“.

Lloyd Carr: I don’t know what is more interesting: the fact that Lloyd Carr’s name was mentioned in the same breath as the Syracuse football program, or the uproar that this rumor caused. I know Brian at Orange44 didn’t just post this because he felt like it would be good to start a rumor. It was obviously something that he was given from a reliable source/sources. I’m not sure why Donnie Webb decided this was something to rail against like the infamous Buzz Bissinger vs. Will Leitch feud, but frankly I don’t think it was a big deal. Coaching rumors have been running rampant around this program for two years (including some that Mr. Webb himself has facilitated) and will not stop until Greg Robinson either leads this team to a bowl game or is fired. Having a guy of Carr’s background either as a candidate or as a part of the search for a possible G-Rob replacement is nothing but a positive for the SU football program. Maybe Daryl Gross is learning from his big mistake.

Lane Kiffin: On September 15th I was out at lunch with a collegue and we started talking about Al Davis and his rampant craziness desire to fire yet another head coach. Davis had brought Lane Kiffin in as a change of pace from all the old retread coaches he had hired over the past few years. I mentioned to my friend that I thought Kiffin would be a great hire for Syracuse if he were let go from Oakland. He has a great recruting record at USC, knows how to coach a successful collegiate offense, and has head coaching experience. When I got back from lunch Donnie Webb had posted that same thought on Syracuse.com (see? I should get paid for this!).

I think Kiffin would be a very good choice. Yes he only went 5-15 with Oakland, but did you see their last three games with him? He had that team playing much better than they played before he go there. He was starting to turn the corner, something that Robinson has yet to do here. There are the obvious connections with Daryl Gross so it wouldn’t be a suprising move. I think Kiffin would bring the smarts and excitement the program has lacked in recent years.

Of course there are many other choices, including Turner Gill (who is my favorite choice), Skip Holtz, Al Golden, Randy Edsall, etc. But Kiffin is an intriguing candidate.

Scoop Jardine: This is definitly great news for the hoops program. With both Devendorf and Rautins back this year Jardine was going to see his minutes drastically reduced. This allows him to rehab his leg and improve his game for the 09-10 season when more minutes should be available (Devendorf, Flynn and Harris theoretically could be gone-but not likely). Either way it gives Scoop a year to develop.

That’s it for now. Once I’ve settled into my new place I’ll continue with some football analysis, including a breakdown of Cam Dantley and another look at Syracuse playmakers. Thanks for reading (to the five confirmed people who read my crap).

Leave a Reply

